How should you love me? Let me count the ways!

5 Mar

Boy on a Beach by Henry Scott Tuke

If you could just play guitar
as well as you love me
you’d sit and play guitar
’til all the neighbors said to me:
“Your boyfriend can beat that guitar!”
(It’s all you’d ever do.)

If you could only cook as well
as you could play guitar, instead,
If you could play guitar as well
as you love me, you’d buy some sweet fish
and fresh carrot juice and other things
I liked and cook not by instinct
but by what suits my tastes —
that lemon chilled squid, that Mandarin risotto,
that French toast, and you’d put them
all in a box for my lunch ’til everybody said to me:
“Your boyfriend can cook such delights too!”
If you could only cook, instead,
it’s all you’d ever do.

If you could write a poem as well
as you cook, If you could cook
as well as you could play guitar,
If you could play guitar as well
as you love me, your poem would touch
a difficult heart, and make me long
to be a little less difficult.
Such incredibly sweet poems you’d write!
’til all my friends said to me:
“Your boyfriend sure can write such love poems!”
And that’s all you’d ever do.

Then you would forget at which things you suck,
instead, be the best devotee to me 🙂

26 Responses to “How should you love me? Let me count the ways!”

  1. hellen keller March 6, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    animal. animal. animal. hahahaha. ganahan kaayo ko

    • richard March 6, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

      @ hellen keller: i thought iisa lang si hellen keller and sucking bird k[i]eller. hehe..

      • Suckingbird March 7, 2010 at 11:49 am #

        hmmmmm. i thought iisa lang si soiebeans at xyboi. buwahahaha!

  2. ODDBLOOD March 6, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    beautiful.. ^_^
    and yeah, i’d also love someone who can cook for me.. 😀

    • Suckingbird March 7, 2010 at 11:56 am #

      yaya ata hinahanap mo dude. hehe.

      • ODDBLOOD March 7, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

        haha..i think i just love the idea of being served and satisfied..who wouldn’t love that? ^_^

        • Suckingbird March 7, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

          if it’s something more special than my mom’s servings, then i’d jump on it. hahaha.

  3. Carizza March 6, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    Nice work here. 🙂

    I hope you get what you wish for, and more. 😀

    • Suckingbird March 7, 2010 at 11:50 am #

      poem lang naman to friend.. not necessarily speaking for what I desire in life. 🙂

  4. runmdrun March 6, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    bago hairstyle! we will all somehow, find someone who would love us for who we are… the best way to find them, is to not look for them… it’s gonna happen when it’s supposed to happen… just wait for it… 😀

    • Suckingbird March 7, 2010 at 11:54 am #

      yeah. because love is a revolutionary patience. taray!

  5. slaveboi March 7, 2010 at 3:45 am #

    This was cute as hell. 😉

  6. Vajarl March 7, 2010 at 4:56 am #

    I don’t know why I keep on staring on the painting. I really don’t.

    Wait, I think I just figured it out. 😛

    • Suckingbird March 7, 2010 at 11:54 am #

      you must be thinking of something else dude 🙂 but it’s all right.

    • Mr. Nonsense March 8, 2010 at 5:32 am #

      walang landian dito vajj.
      …naunahan na kita…

  7. J.Kulisap March 8, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    Tiningnan ko lamang ang larawan.

    paano kaya kong si lolo J. Kul ang nakaganyan sa baybayin ng Bora, Palawan, Batanes…

    Hubad, inosente..walang bahid dungis.

    Masagwa.

    Aguy.

    • Suckingbird March 8, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

      hay. may ganitong pantasya ka pala jkul.. 🙂 hmmmm… delikado yan.

      • J.Kulisap March 9, 2010 at 12:22 am #

        Dahil ako ay praning.

        Dapat mag-isa lamang ako sa dalampasigan.

        Tanging buhangin at hampas lamang ng alon ang makakagalaw sa akin.

        Ako ba ay ligtas?

  8. orville March 8, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    ganda nyan ah.. teka mukhang iba na naman ang mukha ng blog na to.. kelan lang ako nawala..

    • Suckingbird March 8, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

      dapat hindi tayo maging predictable. at least i make surprises for my readers 🙂

  9. Yvarro March 8, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    wow! may bago kang buhok! Ops… 🙂 maganda yan! 😀 hehe..:-) musta nah?.. long tym no talk.. may bago nang bahay ang mga maskara,,, 🙂 dalaw ka ah?.. tengs!!!

Leave a Reply

