For life is always hinged on optimism.

20 Mar

Every morning now, when I come to life again,  it amazes me to be in the world, that in the day ahead I will be able to witness some event, to read on the telephone what my family or friends are doing, where they dined the night before, to know their menu and what they said to each other about someone else. It amazes me that today or tomorrow I can write about a man or a woman and make them better characters in my stories or poems than they are; that I can read a book I’ve always wanted to; that I can go to a movie; that I can peel a sweet mango and cut it into pieces while I read anything in the magazine.

That, of course, is optimism. I don’t think a lot about what life may be then, of what cities will have become, of what powers may be ruling. It scares me more than a little to imagine how the species may evolve, but all of this is for cheerful souls to contemplate. I may not extrude enthusiasm or effervesce with cheer, but buildings do go up, money changes hands, nations prosper and fall; possibly someone’s friends grow berries in their gardens, handsome men eat peaches; sounds come into being that are heard for the first time; new music is made with them; new cuisines are reinvented, new machines come along, new techniques for old things; diseases are conquered, history happens, and movie stars still have babies.

I’ve not seen all these images. I haven’t seen enough. Even without resources, without prospects, lacking health, lacking money, perhaps even unloved, there is still a world to grasp. If I cannot grasp it, the world is always there to be beheld.

Now, I do not see all that much and I don’t know if there are things left for me to see, but I keep on looking…. farther than I ever felt this compulsion coming.

9 Responses to “For life is always hinged on optimism.”

  1. ODDBLOOD March 20, 2010 at 3:08 am #

    nakakarelax magbasa ng mga articles mo..
    beautiful and spontaneous, like you are writing those pieces as thing emerge or happens.. nice. 😀

  2. Carizza March 21, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    WOW. I wish I had your optimism. 😦

    But anyway, thanks for sharing this. It helps. 🙂

  3. cofiboi March 21, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    “If I cannot grasp it, the world is always there to be beheld.”
    i love this. 🙂

  4. maelfatalis is in the sky with diamonds March 21, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    Ok isipin na may bukas matapos nang isang masalimuot na gabi. Na may bahaghari matapos ng ulan. Pero mas ok kung hindi ka nalang mag expect, dahil mas magandang tumanggap ng isang sopresang one more day on earth kesa isipin na may bukas pa naman, diba?

  5. raspberryreich March 21, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    What’s so good about movie stars having more babies? Gawd. More spoiled and pampered spawn.

    Ooops, sorry, gotta fill this more with positive vibes. 😀 Cheers.

    I do wish I was more optimistic about things, not so cynical about everything. But I’d like to think that I’m just being realistic.

    But yes, there’s still more to see in this world. And I can’t wait to get out of this box I’m in and go explore the other side of this huge pool of fish :D. Wait, did I make any sense…?

  6. J. Kulisap March 23, 2010 at 6:38 am #

    Pinapaliit ang mundo ng isang tao kung ayaw na niyang makakita pa o makaranas ng iba sa pangkaraniwan.

    Ang nakakatuwang mabasa sa sinulat mo, bukas ang iyong isipan para sa kung ano ang kayang ibigay sayo ng mundo.

    Kamusta Sak aka Mo Twister

    • Carizza March 23, 2010 at 9:13 am #

      Naisip ko rin na medyo magkahawig nga sila.

  7. ahmer March 23, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    i couldnt agree more… it helps alot

Leave a Reply

