My Grounds for Blogging

31 Mar

1. Worpress has more fun than blogger does. It is even way better than Facebook. On the basis of comment thread, that is. Such plug-in makes the platform very easy to navigate.

2. If you blog in WordPress and don’t comment on other bloggers’ posts, you might consider setting your journal private or deactivate the comment box to earn some reader’s respect on your schemes. Because it takes effort to fish comments.. unless you do have some weird insight- let’s say, tips on a healthy relationship with your goldfish (which others normally freak out to write about)- that will surely provoke one to shit some weird compliment on your page.

3. Blogging is totally different from keeping a physical journal. At any time, you’ll get paranoid that your parents, or your ex lover (or anyone you’ve been hiding from) might discover your plaints in life. So instead of squeezing honesty into your page, you tend to be more catious, more happy than melancholic, or appear to be a good person, not mentioning anyting about _______.

4. This leads me to thinking that most self-indulgent bloggers do fictionalize to the extent nothing in their posts really happened.

5. It is an act to be consistent writing the subjects of love, pain and unrequited desire. Some readers don’t like it while others are too cool to care about it.

6. A hundred-word post is a strict form but if you write carelessly in a thousand, the grace is gone and the result is not a tolerable one but simply notes for a confession you should have taken time to write.

7. Every post is political, so whatever it is you are aiming for the next post… take a stand. Nothing is more useless in this blogging world than a safe (but still, trying to be informative) post. Your post must solicit sympathy or, for a show, invite rage.

8. Give compliments. Give Damsel in Distress some flowering words. Give Humpty Dumpty some refreshment after his fall. An emoticon will do.

9. In a blogger’s mind, there are many possibilities. So don’t be predictable. No matter how old the story you’re going to tell, as long as you put a little new sunshine to it, everyone will like it. Surely.

10. Blog regularly. This may sound trite but surely a few of your readers will miss whatever it is you could’ve posted in your absence.

8 Responses to “My Grounds for Blogging”

  1. Vajarl April 1, 2010 at 12:47 am #

    I never thought about my parents or my past love lives reading my blog. Shit. I have to re-write all of them.

    Nah, I actually have. And I don’t really care. I know how big an asshole I can get. I mean, I can be especially critical to people who deserve the putting down. But I am ready for the consequences of my mean words. 😛

    Hi Sak. 🙂

  2. J. Kulisap April 1, 2010 at 2:25 am #

    Ayaw kong pinupuri ako kung hindi naman bukal sa puso ng blager.

    Kung wala kang masabi o napapangitan ka o ayaw mo lamang sa tapik, pwede ba, huwag ka na lamang magkomento ng:

    Nice post.
    Pwede pong ex-link tayo?

    Mas kakainin ko ngalangala mo Utoy.

  3. raspberryreich April 1, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    I’ll keep all these in mind :D. But so far, I think I haven’t done that bad in blogging based on your terms.

    Fuck, I was also planning to do something similar to this. Uh, who cares? I’ll still do it. I was planning on posting something about my pet peeves on blogging :P.

    Yes, take your own advice. Blog regularly because some people (me?) look forward to your posts :P.

    And yes, WordPress is more awesome than Blogger, and even Facebook. You don’t do much on Facebook, and people there tend to show their moronic sides.

    And where else will we be able to find out the searches that users used to get to our blog? “forced bi fag”, “hard gay anal”, “boyfriend dominate torture him”, anyone? Hahahahaha.

  4. soiebeans April 3, 2010 at 5:48 am #

    kaog maayo ug bepstik mam!

  5. Richard April 4, 2010 at 5:40 am #

    Wanna say goodbye. Joke lang. Keep in touch. Hinay hinay lang inom…. Hehe

    • soiebeans April 4, 2010 at 6:44 am #

      haha. mam, kinsay maghinay2 ug inom ani ron?

  6. neil April 5, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    very nice post. i agree with you. 🙂

  7. Rogue|Hero April 11, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    Hey Sak!

    WordPress.com is absolutely more organized than Blogger. I also love blogging on WordPress.com compared to networking on Facebook, MySpace, and Twitter. Don’t know with tumblr though–haven’t tried it yet.

    2. If you blog in WordPress and don’t comment on other bloggers’ posts, you might consider setting your journal private or deactivate the comment box to earn some reader’s respect on your schemes.
    ~Well, I was struck by this ’cause lately, I haven’t been commenting on other’s blogs. 😀 But trust me, I don’t have any schemes up my sleeve. 😀

    4. This leads me to thinking that most self-indulgent bloggers do fictionalize to the extent nothing in their posts really happened.
    ~Yeah, there are bloggers who do this–lying on their own blogs and to themselves. That’s why we should strive to be as honest as possible since blogging is a form of social networking, which involves creating relationships online.

    6. A hundred-word post is a strict form but if you write carelessly in a thousand, the grace is gone…
    ~I believe in writing long posts rather than short ones. This is especially if there is a long period in-between publishing your posts. But if you can manage publishing once everyday or more, shorts are acceptable.

    But anyway, those are just my opinions. You’ve got a noble take on blogging and I think you’ll do good in this form of social networking.

    Keep on writing!

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

